During the National Convention held in Sydney in May 1964, discussions took place as it was felt that Officers who had served as District Governor in the Multiple District, should form themselves into an Association. With this in view a meeting was called and PID Bill Burge Phillips was invited to chair the meeting to discuss the mater.

The meeting was held at the Chevron Hilton Hotel in Sydney on Friday, 22nd May 1964.

At the meeting it was resolved that an Association be formed and known as “Australian Lions, International Counsellors Association”.

The objects of the Association were resolved as: -

  • For social enjoyment.

  • Available to District or Multiple District as an advisory body if and when requested.

  • To further the interests of Lionism in Australia.

Membership would be by invitation only, and that membership would be open to International Counsellors who are in good standing with their Club, District and Lions International.

Membership fees were set at one pound per annum, or such other amount as may be determined from time to time. An Annual Meeting would be held at the National Convention of the Multiple District each year.

The following Office Bearers were elected: -

Chairman     Syd Packham
Deputy Chairman Ray Viney
Secretary  Harry Wakeham.

Howard Waters, Arthur Simpson, Steve Mauger, Tom Magnus, Ken Bunn, Bill Tresise, Graham Lord and Bill Parsons.

In 1967 at the Annual General Meeting held in Canberra, it was resolved that the name of the Association be changed to “Australian Past District Governors’ Association”.

At the Annual General meeting held in Sydney in 1973 the Office of Chairman was changed to President, and it was also decided that in future the President and Secretary should come from the area where the next Convention is to be held, so they could arrange the Annual General Meeting and Dinner.

In 1981 at the Annual General Meeting held in Canberra the Office Bearers were again changed. The Office of Deputy President was deleted and a new office of Treasurer and Welfare Officer was added. At the same Annual General Meeting it was decided that in future a circular would be forwarded to all members advising them of the death of a member

At the Convention in 1983 at Mount Gambier it was resolved that we elect a Life Member each year. The first Life Member was Syd Packham. Full details of the Life Members are listed on a special page of this web site.

Association membership in 1964 was 24; today we have 479 members with only 38 still receiving the circulars by snail-mail.